Liverpool win FA Cup glory as Chelsea pay the penalty again

Kostas Tsimikas’ penalty on penalties gave Liverpool the FA Cup on Saturday, once again beating Chelsea by the narrowest margin at Wembley.

Jurgen Klopp’s Reds had already won the Carabao Cup on penalties against Chelsea earlier this year, and triumphed again, when the final in a packed stadium ended goalless after extra time.

Liverpool took an early lead on penalties when Blues captain Cesar Azpilicueta’s penalty kick hit the post, but Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy saved Senegalese teammate Sadio Mane since, like the Carabao Cup, penalties they went into sudden death.

Hakim Ziyech and Diogo Jota both scored, but Liverpool goalkeeper Allison saved from Mason Mount and Tsimikas kept his cool to keep Liverpool on course for a possible quadruple.

The match itself saw Liverpool dominate early on, but poor finishing disappointed the Reds and Chelsea grew into the match, with Marco Alonso turning down a great chance to take them ahead.

Alonso then hit the crossbar with a free kick in the second half, but Liverpool also hit the post with Luis Diaz as left-back Andy Robertson missed perhaps the best chance of the match, hitting the post from close range.

Neither side came really close to scoring in extra time, and this time Chelsea manager Thomas Tuchel decided not to hire goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga for Mendy, as he did in the Carabao Cup final.

It didn’t work on that occasion and it didn’t work here either because Chelsea will close the season with only the Uefa Super Cup and the Fifa Club World Cup in their trophy case.