Sharks pushed by URC players for the Currie Cup clash with Pumas – The Citizen

Manager Etienne Fynn has named a number of United Rugby Championship players, who didn’t get much playing time in that competition, to the Sharks squad for the Currie Cup clash against the Pumas in Durban on Friday night, and their experience undoubtedly supporting the team in the run-up to the playoffs.

Hooker Kerron van Vuuren replaces Fez Mbatha while Ruben van Heerden replaces Emile van Heerden in the second row where he restores his collaboration with Hyron Andrews.

Jeandre Labuschange replaces Dylan Richardson and Sikhumbuzo Notshe replaces Celimpilo Gumede in eighth, completing the changes between forwards.

READ ALSO: Sharks sign Rohan Janse van Rensburg with a three-year contract

In a modified baseline, Boeta Chamberlain starts at 10 with Tito Bonilla moving to the bench while Marnus Potgieter moves from center winger to flank Anthony Volmink on the left flank, with Jeremy Ward named at 13 to flank Ethan Fisher in midfield.

In the latest change to the starting lineup, Nevaldo Fleurs, a recently signed Varsity Cup backline star, plays as full-back.

With their previous game against the Blue Bulls being canceled following the recent flood that devastated KwaZulu-Natal, it’s been a month since the Sharks’ Currie Cup’s last game, a tough 13-6 away win against the Griquas on April 6.

With two registration points awarded to both teams in the canceled match against the Bulls, the Sharks currently occupy third place in the standings with 24 points, nine clear of the Pumas.

The shark team

Dian Bleuler, Kerron van Vuuren, Wiehahn Herbst, Ruben van Heerden, Hyron Andrews, James Venter (c), Jeandre Labuschagne, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Cameron Wright, Boeta Chamberlain, Anthony Volmink, Ethan Fisher, Jeremy Ward, Marnus Potgieter, Nevaldo Fleurs *

Bench: Fez Mbatha, Khwezi Mona, Lourens Adriaanse, Emile van Heerden, Dylan Richardson, Thembelani Bholi, Zee Mkhabela *, Tito Bonilla